About Pittsburgh Playwrights Theatre Company

Pittsburgh Playwrights Theatre Company was founded by Mark Clayton Southers in 2003. We began as the resident company of Garfield's Penn Theater, and moved to a 75-seat space at 542 Penn Avenue in the downtown Cultural District in January 2005. In October 2011 we moved again, into the penthouse at 937 Liberty Avenue.  Thanks to the Pittsburgh Cultural Trust for finding this exciting new space for us!  This space has an elevator and is wheelchair-accessible.

Our Mission: Pittsburgh Playwrights Theatre Company is committed to developing and showcasing the works of local playwrights; from accomplished masters like August Wilson and George S. Kaufman to promising new talents. We seek to nurture a racially and culturally diverse community of playwrights, directors, actors and technical specialists to hone their craft and to network creative opportunities. Finally, we support a racially and culturally diverse management staff and board of directors who, together, promote audiences that reflect the rich variety of our Pittsburgh community. Through such sharing of talents, resources, perspectives and experiences we aspire to provide artistic enlightenment that will strengthen our civic community.

Map of 937 Liberty Avenue, Pittsburgh PA 15222

Mark Clayton Southers, Founder and Producing Artistic Director, cell 412-377-7803; msouthers@pghplaywrights.com

Monteze Freeland, Artistic Associate

Mark Whitehead, Resident Sound Designer

Eric A. Smith, Production Manager

Cheryl El-Walker, Resident Costumer

Angela Spears, Marketing/PR Director

Joy Southers, Managing Director

Carl Southers III, Box Office

Steven Doerfler, Website

Elizabeth Reiss, Director of Funding

Eric Donaldson, Marketing Design

Board of Directors

Wayne Walters Lorill "Neicy" Southers
Lynne Hayes-Freeland Tawnya Farris-Redwood
Mark A. Freeman Elizabeth Reiss
Ryan Scott Delores Southers
Dr. Michael Ramsay Donna Drewery
Janis Burley Wilson Mark Clayton Southers
Carl R. Southers III Susan McGregor-Laine
Angela E. Spears Joy D. Southers
Carlton Heywood Nikki Jackson
Eric A. Smith  

Current as of August 2016.